P.L. 1997, CHAPTER 315, approved January 8, 1998

Assembly, No. 2229 (First Reprint)






An Act concerning the Community Financial Services Advisory Board and amending P.L.1991, c.294.


    Be It Enacted by the Senate and General Assembly of the State of New Jersey:


    1. Section 3 of P.L.1991, c.294 (C.17:16Q-3) is amended to read as follows:

    3. There is created in the Department of Banking 1and Insurance1 a Community Financial Services Advisory Board. The board shall consist of the commissioner or his designee, who shall be ex officio the chair of the board, the Commissioner of Community Affairs or his designee, who shall be ex officio the vice-chair of the board, the Commissioner of Commerce and Economic Development or his designee, who shall serve ex officio, and 11 members to be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate for a term of three years, except that of the 11 members initially appointed by the Governor, four shall be appointed for three years, four shall be appointed for two years, and three shall be appointed for one year. Each member shall hold office for the term of appointment and until his successor is appointed and qualified. A member is eligible to be reappointed to the board. A member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring in the membership of the board for any reason other than the expiration of the term shall have a term of appointment for the unexpired term only. All vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment. Any appointed member of the board may be removed from office by the Governor, for cause, after a hearing and may be suspended by the Governor pending the completion of the hearing. Members of the board shall serve without compensation, but shall be reimbursed for necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties as members. Action may be taken and motions and

resolutions may be adopted by the board at a board meeting by an affirmative vote of not less than [seven] eight members. Of the 11 appointed members, five shall each have had, at the time of appointment, not less than five years of practical experience as an active executive officer in a depository institution located in the State of New Jersey; and six shall be public members who are not salaried officers, directors or employees of any depository institution, at least four of whom shall be selected from nonprofit organizations which have had experience in developing low and moderate income housing programs, assisting low and moderate income consumers in securing credit from depository institutions in this State, or developing programs to educate consumers regarding the credit and lending practices of depository institutions in this State. At no time shall there be more than one representative on the board from any one depository institution or group of depository institutions which form a holding company. Of the five members specified to have had practical executive experience, at least three shall have had responsibility for a depository institution's community reinvestment activities and, at least one each shall be appointed from the following groups: savings banks; banks located in the Second Federal Reserve District; banks located in the Third Federal Reserve District; and savings and loan associations. (cf: P.L.1991, c.294, s.3)                  

    2. This act shall take effect immediately.





Adds Commissioner of Commerce and Economic Development as new ex officio member to the Community Financial Services Advisory Board.