| back | NJ Legislature |
Joint Committee on the Public Schools
41 West State Street Suite 2F
P.O. Box 070
Trenton, NJ
(609) 847-3365
(609) 292-4912 (fax)

Rebecca Sapp, Executive Director
Ivy Pomper, Executive Assistant

The Joint Committee on the Public Schools provides an ongoing study of the system of free public schools; it's financing, administration and operations, as well as to make recommendations for legislative action.

Created by statute in 1975, this committee is comprised of 14 members of the Legislature.
Appointments are made by the Senate President and Speaker of the New Jersey General Assembly.
The Members select leadership at the reorganization meeting, every 2 years.
A subcommittee structure has allowed this committee to be involved in major legislative policies and proposals.

When the State took over the operations of the Jersey City (1989), Paterson (1991) and Newark (1995) school districts, the Joint Committee began continuous interaction with the superintendents, boards and community; and held numerous public meetings to provide a forum for transparency of the process, as well as being a reporting agent to the Legislature.

In 1995, the Joint Committee's research into the Nation's relatively new charter school laws played a major role for the Legislature in developing and refining a legislative proposal that culminated in (former) Governor Christine Whitman's signing of this enactment in January, 1996.

Since 2002, the Joint Committee has taken the lead in providing Legislative and public awareness regarding matters of school construction.

When the Legislative and Executive branches decided to change the method by which school districts were monitored and evaluated, the Joint Committee was involved with both public meetings and research into language development for the statutory change. This eventually became the New Jersey Quality Single Accountability Continuum law. (NJ QSAC)

Committee Members

The committee consists of 14 members: 7 Assembly Members appointed by the Speaker of the General Assembly, and 7 Senators appointed by the Senate President. Two members from each house should be members of their respective house's Education Committee.

Senator Ronald L. Rice   Co-Chair
Senator James Beach
Senator Joseph Cryan
Senator Declan J. O'Scanlon, Jr.
Senator Michael Testa
Senator Samuel D. Thompson

Assemblywoman Mila M. Jasey   Co-Chair
Assemblyman Ralph R. Caputo
Assemblywoman Bettylou DeCroce
Assemblywoman Serena DiMaso
Assemblywoman Verlina Reynolds-Jackson
Assemblyman Erik Simonsen
Assemblyman Benjie E. Wimberly
Innovative Practices
Assemblyman David W. Wolfe   Chair
Senator Ronald L. Rice  
Assemblywoman Mila M. Jasey  
Data, Research & Evaluation
Senator Samuel D. Thompson   Vice-Chair
Senator Ronald L. Rice  
Assemblywoman Mila M. Jasey  
Student & Field Services
Assemblyman Benjie E. Wimberly   Chair
Senator Ronald L. Rice  
Assemblywoman Bettylou DeCroce  
Assemblywoman Mila M. Jasey  
School Facilities & Construction
Assemblyman Ralph R. Caputo   Chair
Senator Ronald L. Rice  
Senator Samuel D. Thompson  
Assemblywoman Mila M. Jasey  
Assemblyman Benjie E. Wimberly  
Meetings    View All Meetings


The Joint Committee on the Public Schools will be meeting Tuesday, March 23, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. via Zoom to receive an update from Manuel DaSilva, CEO, New Jersey Schools Development Authority.

2/9/2021 10:00:00 AM

The Joint Committee on the Public Schools will be receiving testimony from invited guests on the reopening of schools, the social emotional impact, and learning loss due to the Covid-19 pandemic.
Transcript    Appendix